The ICC World Test Championship, an esteemed red-ball cricket event, commenced four years ago in 2019. Test cricket has a big place in the heart of cricket fans always. However, only teams with demonstrated cricketing ability are granted Test status, resulting in a select group of participants. In the inaugural World Test Championship, nine full member teams, excluding Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, and Ireland, competed for the coveted title. The game goes by a points system, where 12 points given for a win, 6 points for a tie, and 4 points are given in case of a draw. After engaging in intense battles against various teams, the top two teams secure their place in the finals of the World Test Championship. Thus far, one season of the WTC has been completed, culminating in New Zealand emerging as the maiden WTC champion, led by the inspiring Kane Williamson, who defeated Virat Kohli’s India in the final. Let’s delve into the ICC World Test Championship Winners List.

2019-21 World Test Championship Winner

New Zealand, a cricketing nation that had never won an ODI World Cup or a T20 World Cup, clinched the title of the 2019-21 World Test Championship. The Blackcaps showcased their mettle in 11 matches, emerging victorious in 7, without experiencing any ties or draws. In contrast, India won 12 out of their 17 games, losing 4 and settling for 1 draw.

Also Check: Squads for ICC World Test Championship 2023 India vs Australia

The final showdown took place in Southampton, where the Men in Blue faced off against the White Ferns from the 18th to the 23rd of June. India, batting first on a typical English swinging deck, could only muster a score of 217. Kiwi seamer Kyle Jamieson wreaked havoc with his remarkable figures of 5/31. In response, New Zealand posted 249, with Devon Conway contributing 54 runs and Williamson scoring 49. India’s Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma put up a valiant fight, taking 4/76 and 3/48 respectively.

India struggled once again in the second innings and were bundled out for a meager 170 runs, with only Rishabh Pant managing to cross the 40-run mark. This time, the renowned pair of Tim Southee and Trent Boult shared seven wickets between them. Capitalizing on India’s subpar batting display, New Zealand chased down the target of 139 runs with 8 wickets in hand, with Williamson’s unbeaten 52 and Ross Taylor’s gritty 47* leading the way.

2019-21 World Test Championship Winner

New Zealand emerged as the winner of the 2019-21 World Test Championship.

Finalists of the 2021-23 WTC

The finalists of the 2021-23 WTC are India and Australia.

Schedule for the 2021-23 WTC

The 2021-23 WTC final is scheduled to take place at The Oval from 7th June to 11th June 2023.


Comments are closed.

Pin It
ODI Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List from 1975 to 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 All 10 Teams New Jersey ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums List, Capacity, & Matches