The Enormous Cricket Match

Hey there! Get ready for a super big cricket match known as the “ODI World Cup”! It’s all set to begin on October 5, and guess what? The champs from last time, England, will face off against New Zealand. They had a big showdown in 2019 too!


The Kings of Victory

Let’s talk about winners! Australia is like the king of this game. They’ve won the super big trophy five times! That’s a lot more than anyone else. They’re like the superheroes of cricket!

Back-to-Back Wins

Guess what’s even cooler? Only Australia and West Indies have won two times in a row. West Indies did it in 1975 and 1979. Australia, on the other hand, did it not once, not twice, but thrice in 1999, 2003, and 2007. Talk about an unstoppable winning streak!

Sri Lanka’s Unforgettable Triumph

Let’s take a trip down memory lane to 1996. That year, Sri Lanka hosted the cricket party, and they did something amazing. They won the big trophy! No other host nation had done that before. It was like a dream come true for them!

New Zealand’s Quest for Glory

Now, here’s a twist. Australia seems to be the regular in the finals, making it seven times out of 12! But New Zealand, they’ve come close, being the runner-up in 2015 and 2019. They’re like the determined heroes who keep striving for victory.

Also Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 All Stadium Details

India’s Double Delight

India has its own tale of triumph. They’ve won this grand cricket match twice! Imagine the celebrations in 1983 and 2011. They’ve got some serious cricket skills.

The Game Plan

So, how do they play this epic match? Well, all the teams get to play against each other once. It’s like a big round-robin party! Then, the top four teams move on to play more games. The grand finale happens on November 19 at a huge stadium. It’s like a grand adventure!

We’re super excited about the big cricket match! It’s a rollercoaster of emotions. Who’s going to be the champion this time? We’ll find out soon, and it’s going to be amazing!

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners & Runners List:

1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227
1996Pakistan, India, and Sri LankaSri Lanka245–3Australia241
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8
2011India, Bangladesh & Sri LankaIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List with Captain, Man of the Match, and Player of the Series:

YearWinnerCaptainMan Of The MatchPlayer Of The Tournament
1975West IndiesClive LloydClive Lloyd
1979West IndiesClive LloydViv Richards
1983IndiaKapil DevMohinder Amarnath
1987AustraliaAllan BorderDavid Boon
1992PakistanImran KhanWasim AkramMartin Crowe
1996Sri LankaArjuna RanatungaAravinda de SilvaSanath Jayasuriya
1999AustraliaSteve WaughShane WarneLance Klusener
2003AustraliaRicky PontingRicky PontingSachin Tendulkar
2007AustraliaRicky PontingAdam GilchristGlenn McGrath
2011IndiaMS DhoniMahendra Singh DhoniYuvraj Singh
2015AustraliaMichael ClarkeJames FaulknerMitchell Starc
2019EnglandEoin MorganBen StokesKane Williamson

Most Titles Wins in ODI Cricket World Cup:

World Cup TeamWorld Cup TrophyWorld Cup Winner
Australia5 Times1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
India2 Times1983, 2011
West Indies2 Times1975, 1979
Sri Lanka1 Time1996
Pakistan1 Time1992
England1 Time2019

Comments are closed.

Pin It