The Mumbai Indians, a powerful force draped in five IPL titles, are thirsting for another championship in 2024. This year, a wildcard disrupts the deck – the flamboyant Hardik Pandya, an all-rounder with power to burn, takes the captain’s mantle. Cricket fanatics, listen up! The IPL thrill explodes onto the scene on March 22nd! MI throws down the gauntlet against the Gujarat Titans in Ahmedabad on the 24th, a clash that’ll set the stage for a season of drama.

Wankhede was the heart of that victory! Batters here feel like they’ve entered a batsman’s paradise, where scores that would make your head spin (we’re talking well over 200 runs!) are a regular occurrence. But don’t get too comfortable – the new ball can be a bit of a trickster. Under the dazzling floodlights, it can morph into a slingshot in the hands of fast bowlers, especially during those electrifying night matches.

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai IPL Stats and Records

First Match20/04/2008
Last T20 Match01/04/2024
Matches Played110
Matches Won Batting First50 (45.45%)
Matches Won Batting Second60 (54.55%)
Matches Won Winning Toss58 (52.73%)
Matches Won Losing Toss52 (47.27%)
Matches with No Result0 (0.00%)
Highest Team Innings235/1 (Royal Challengers Bangalore) – 10/05/2015 vs Mumbai Indians
Lowest Team Innings67 (Kolkata Knight Riders) – 16/05/2008 vs Mumbai Indians

MI Records in Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai:

  • Matches Played: 77
  • Matches Won: 48
  • Matches Lost: 29
  • Winning Percentage: 62.34%
  • Highest Total: 223/6 against Kings XI Punjab in 2017
  • Lowest Total: 87/10 against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018
  • First Played: Vs RCB on 20. 04. 2008
  • Last Played: Vs Rajasthan Royals on 1st April, 2024

Below are the Maximum Runs in IPL

  1. Rohit Sharma: 1958 runs from 71 matches
  2. Kieron Pollard: 1187 runs from 58 matches
  3. Ambati Rayadu: 924 runs from 53 matches
S. No.PlayerTeamsMatInnsNO50s100sHSRunsAvgS/RCaSt
1R G SharmaMI71711114094195832.63133.74270
2K A PollardMI5855137083118728.26154.56400
3A T RayuduCSK, MI53507507892421.49126.92211
4S A YadavKKR, MI2626361103*87337.96157.01110
5K D KarthikDC, GL, KKR, MI, PBKS, RCB31307208680234.87138.51239
6J C ButtlerMI, RR222223111671835.90144.7670
7F du PlessisCSK, RPS, RCB181845095*64045.71132.51110
8S R TendulkarMI22221307462629.81116.3690
9S DhawanDC, PBKS, SRH17172409262541.67130.48170
10H H PandyaGT, MI3432122062*58529.25148.10190

Also Read: Top 5 Mumbai Indians Players with the Most Runs in IPL History

Most Wickets in IPL

S. No.PlayerTeamsMatOMRW3wBestAvgS/RE/R
1S L MalingaMI42164.2411376634/1617.2314.946.92
2Harbhajan SinghCSK, MI47165.0111594915/1823.6520.207.02
3J J BumrahMI35137.0310543803/1527.7421.637.69
4M J McClenaghanMI2596.018413614/2123.3616.008.76
5D J J BravoCSK, GL, MI1966.015532603/2021.2715.238.38
6D S KulkarniGL, MI, RR1554.414502403/1918.7513.678.23
7H H PandyaGT, MI3474.106892403/2028.7118.549.29
8M M PatelGL, MI, RR1660.014302314/2818.7015.657.17
9K A PollardMI5869.046122214/4427.8218.828.87
10K H PandyaLSG, MI2671.004962103/1923.6220.296.99

Highest Individual score in IPL

S. No.PlayerTeamMatchVersusRunsB/F4s6sS/R
1A B de VilliersRCB10/05/2015Mumbai Indians133*59194225.42
2Y B K JaiswalRR30/04/2023Mumbai Indians12462168200.00
3V SehwagPBKS30/05/2014Chennai Super Kings12258128210.34
4S V SamsonRR12/04/2021Punjab Kings11963127188.89
5S R WatsonCSK27/05/2018Sunrisers Hyderabad117*57118205.26
6J C ButtlerRR22/04/2022Delhi Capitals1166599178.46
7S T JayasuriyaMI14/05/2008Chennai Super Kings114*48911237.50
8V R IyerKKR16/04/2023Mumbai Indians1045169203.92
9S A YadavMI12/05/2023Gujarat Titans103*49116210.20
10K L RahulLSG24/04/2022Mumbai Indians103*62124166.13

Also Read: Top 15 Most Dangerous Bowlers in World Cricket

Best Bowlers in IPL

S. No.PlayerTeamMatchVersusOMRWE/R
1P W H de SilvaRCB08/05/2022Sunrisers Hyderabad411854.50
2Harbhajan SinghMI22/04/2011Chennai Super Kings401854.50
3Umran MalikSRH27/04/2022Gujarat Titans402556.25
4D L ChaharCSK16/04/2021Punjab Kings411343.25
5Kuldeep YadavDC28/04/2022Kolkata Knight Riders301444.67
6S P NarineKKR16/05/2012Mumbai Indians3.101544.74
7S L MalingaMI29/04/2012Deccan Chargers3.401644.36
8Mohsin KhanLSG01/05/2022Delhi Capitals401644.00
9A J TyePBKS16/05/2018Mumbai Indians401644.00
10A B DindaPW06/04/2012Mumbai Indians401844.50

FAQs about Wankhede Stadium:

  1. Batting or Bowling Friendly?
    • Wankhede Stadium is known as a batting paradise, providing favorable conditions for batsmen to chase even scores exceeding 200 runs.
  2. Highest Individual IPL Score?
    • AB de Villiers holds the record for the highest individual IPL score at Wankhede Stadium, smashing 133 runs off just 59 balls in a match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians on 10th May 2015.
  3. Highest Team Total?
    • The highest IPL team total at Wankhede Stadium was registered by Royal Challengers Bangalore, who posted 235/1 against Mumbai Indians during IPL 2015.
  4. Lowest Team Total?
    • Kolkata Knight Riders recorded the lowest IPL total at Wankhede Stadium, being bowled out for a mere 67 runs against Mumbai Indians on 16th May 2008.
  5. Preference for Pace or Spin?
    • While Wankhede Stadium generally favors batsmen due to its fast outfield, it offers more support to fast bowlers, especially under floodlights, where the new ball seams and swings more effectively.

Comments are closed.

Pin It
ODI Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List from 1975 to 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 All 10 Teams New Jersey ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums List, Capacity, & Matches