The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a prestigious cricket tournament that garners a massive following across the globe. This annual event features domestic and international players, who showcase their skills and compete for the coveted IPL trophy. While the IPL is known for its high-octane batting performances, the bowlers play an equally significant role in deciding the outcome of matches.

Since the inception of the IPL in 2008, the Purple Cap has been awarded to the bowler with the highest number of wickets taken in the tournament. It’s a prestigious award that has been won by several cricket legends such as Lasith Malinga. The Purple Cap adds to the motivation of bowlers, who strive to outdo each other and claim the top spot on the leaderboard.

Check: Kheloo Best Betting Site in India

This article presents a comprehensive list of all IPL Purple Cap winners from 2008 to 2023, along with current records of the ongoing IPL season. The Purple Cap winner in the TATA IPL 2023 is none other than Mark Wood, the fast bowler from the Lucknow Super Giants.

If you’re a cricket enthusiast or a fan of the IPL, you must check out this list to know about the players who have dominated with their bowling skills in the previous IPL seasons. Keep an eye on the current Purple Cap holder’s performances to see if they can maintain their position on the leaderboard or if a new challenger will emerge. 

The prestigious Purple Cap award for the TATA IPL 2023 season is currently in the possession of Mark Wood, a talented fast bowler representing the Lucknow Super Giants franchise.

RankPlayer NameTeamWicketsMatches
1Mark WoodLSG93
2Rashid KhanGT83
3Yuzvendra ChahalRR83
4Ravi BishnoiLSG64
5Sunil NarineKKR63

Mark Wood of the Lucknow Super Giants is currently at the top of the leaderboard with 9 wickets in 3 matches, closely followed by Rashid Khan of the Goa Tigers and Yuzvendra Chahal of the Rajasthan Royals with 8 wickets each in 3 matches. Ravi Bishnoi of the Lucknow Super Giants and Sunil Narine of the Kolkata Knight Riders complete the top 5 with 6 wickets each in 4 and 3 matches respectively.

IPL Purple Cap Winners List (2008 – 2023)

The Purple Cap is a prestigious award given to the bowler with the highest number of wickets in a particular season of the IPL. The cap changes hands throughout the tournament until the very end, resulting in some exciting and unpredictable scenarios where the final Purple Cap holder may not necessarily be from the finalist team. This unpredictability adds to the excitement and thrill of the IPL, although it can be heartbreaking for players who miss out on the award.

IPL betting bonus

Also Read: Orange Cap Holders

While individual performances are celebrated, cricket is ultimately a team sport, and a team’s success is measured by collective efforts. Nonetheless, the IPL Purple Cap remains a coveted prize among players and fans alike. You can find a comprehensive list of all the IPL Purple Cap winners over the years below.

YearPurple Cap WinnerTotal WicketsTeamEconomyAverageTotal MatchesCountry
2022Yuzvendra Chahal27Rajasthan Royals7.7519.5217India
2021Harshal Patel27Rajasthan Royals7.7519.5217India
2020Not awarded
2019Imran Tahir26Chennai Super Kings6.6916.5717South Africa
2018Andrew Tye24Kings XI Punjab8.0018.6614Australia
2017Bhuvneshwar Kumar26Sunrisers Hyderabad7.0514.1914India
2016Bhuvneshwar Kumar23Sunrisers Hyderabad7.4221.3017India
2015Dwayne Bravo26Chennai Super Kings8.1416.3817Trinidad and Tobago
2014Mohit Sharma23Chennai Super Kings8.3919.6516India
2013Dwayne Bravo32Chennai Super Kings7.9515.5318Trinidad and Tobago
2012Morne Morkel25Delhi Daredevils18.127.1916South Africa
2011Lasith Malinga28Mumbai Indians5.9513.3916Sri Lanka
2010Pragyan Ojha21Deccan Chargers7.2920.4216India
2009RP Singh23Deccan Chargers6.9818.1316India
2008Sohail Tanvir22Rajasthan Royals6.4612.0911Pakistan

The Purple Cap is an esteemed accolade in every season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), along with the Orange Cap and Man of the Series. It is essential for any cricket aficionado to be acquainted with the winners of the Purple Cap in each IPL season.


What is the IPL Purple Cap?

The IPL Purple Cap is an award presented to the leading wicket-taker of each season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). The player who takes the most wickets in the season wears the cap while fielding until another player surpasses their wicket tally.

When was the IPL Purple Cap first introduced?

The IPL Purple Cap was first introduced in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008.

Who has won the most IPL Purple Caps?

Two players, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo, have won the IPL Purple Cap award the most times with two each.

Has any player won the IPL Purple Cap more than once in consecutive seasons?

Yes, Bhuvneshwar Kumar won the Purple Cap in the 2016 and 2017 seasons of the IPL.

Who won the IPL Purple Cap in the last season?

Yuzvendra Chahal won the IPL Purple Cap in the 2022 season, taking 27 wickets for the Rajasthan Royals.

Is there any prize money associated with winning the IPL Purple Cap?

No, the IPL Purple Cap is purely an honorary award and does not come with any monetary prize.

Which team has had the most Purple Cap winners?

Chennai Super Kings have had the most Purple Cap winners, with Dwayne Bravo and Imran Tahir winning it twice each, and Mohit Sharma winning it once.


Comments are closed.

Pin It