ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Umpires Announced

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 is just around the corner, and the cricketing world is buzzing with excitement. One of the crucial aspects of the tournament is the team of umpires who will officiate the matches. Let’s take a closer look at the list of umpires and match referees for this highly anticipated event.

Opening Match Umpires

The opening match of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 between England and New Zealand promises to be a thrilling encounter. Officiating this game will be Kumar Dharmasena and Nitin Menon as the on-field umpires. Both bring their unique experiences to the field, with Dharmasena having made history in 2015 as the first person to both play and umpire in an ICC Men’s 50-over Cricket World Cup final, while Menon stands in his first ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup match.

Supporting the On-field Umpires

Assisting Dharmasena and Menon in this high-stakes clash will be a team of officials. TV umpire Paul Wilson, fourth umpire Shahid Saikat, and match referee Javagal Srinath will play pivotal roles in ensuring a fair and smooth contest. Shahid will become the first umpire from Bangladesh to officiate in the ICC Cricket World Cup, adding a touch of diversity to the panel.

Also Read: Prize Money For ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

The Umpiring Dream Team

The ICC has selected a team of 20 officials to oversee the World Cup contests. This group consists of 16 umpires and four match referees, including 12 umpires from the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Umpires. Six of the 16 umpires are making their debut in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, while three are seasoned veterans who have officiated in previous finals.

Familiar Faces from Previous Tournaments

Several umpires are making a return to the World Cup stage, with some having officiated in recent tournaments. Marais Erasmus and Richard Kettleborough, who took charge of the finals in 2019 and 2015 respectively, are back. Notably, Erasmus and Dharmasena were also at the helm during the 2019 final at Lord’s and the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 final.

Also Read: Top 10 Cricket World Cup Records That Are Hard To Break

The Returnees

Other officials making a comeback from previous tournaments include Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth, and Joel Wilson. Rod Tucker, who served as the third umpire in the final four years ago, completes the trio of officials who were part of the 2019 showpiece event.

New Faces on the Block

Nitin Menon, at 39, is the youngest umpire at the tournament. Joining him are debutants Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid (Bangladesh), Ahsan Raza (Pakistan), Adrian Holdstock (South Africa), Alex Wharf (England), and Chris Brown (New Zealand). This injection of fresh talent adds an exciting dimension to the umpiring panel.

The Match Referees

The four match referees for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 are all former international players. Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe), Richie Richardson (West Indies), and Javagal Srinath (India) will ensure that the tournament is played within the spirit of the game.

With this diverse and experienced team of umpires and match referees, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be a thrilling spectacle, with every decision made in the best interest of the sport.



Comments are closed.

Pin It
ODI Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List from 1975 to 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 All 10 Teams New Jersey ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums List, Capacity, & Matches