The Asia Cup is a big cricket tournament played in both One Day International (ODI) and Twenty20 International (T20I) formats. It’s like the biggest championship for cricket in Asia. It started in 1984 after the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) was set up a year earlier. The tournament’s format changes based on the other ICC tournaments.

India has won the most Asia Cup titles with seven wins. Sri Lanka has six wins, and Pakistan has won twice.

Asia Cup Most Valuable Players

1984 – Surinder Khanna:

In the first Asia Cup in 1984, India’s Surinder Khanna was the Most Valuable Player. He scored the most runs in the tournament and did really well. He was the only one to score more than 100 runs. He also got two half-centuries in two matches.

1986 – Arjuna Ranatunga:

The Most Valuable Player in the 1986 Asia Cup was Arjuna Ranatunga from Sri Lanka. He was great at both batting and bowling. He got more runs and wickets than anyone else. He scored 105 runs in three games and took four wickets.

1988 – Navjot Singh Sidhu:

Navjot Singh Sidhu, a famous Indian batsman, was the Most Valuable Player in the 1988 Asia Cup. He was amazing in a tournament where no other player got even one half-century. Sidhu got three half-centuries, including one in the final match. He scored 179 runs at an average of nearly 60.

1990/91: There wasn’t a Most Valuable Player for the 1990/91 edition.

1993: The Asia Cup in 1993 got canceled because of problems between India and Pakistan.

1995 – Navjot Singh Sidhu:

In 1995, Navjot Singh Sidhu became the first player to win the Most Valuable Player award twice in the Asia Cup. He was the second-highest run-scorer and made a big difference. Sidhu scored 197 runs with an average of almost 99, and he was really important in India’s win in the final against Sri Lanka.

1997 – Arjuna Ranatunga:

Arjuna Ranatunga won his second Asia Cup Most Valuable Player award in 1997. He was the best batsman, making 272 runs, including a century and two half-centuries.

Also Read: Asia Cup 2023: All Teams Squad List, Captain

2000 – Mohammad Yousuf:

In 2000, Mohammad Yousuf from Pakistan became the Most Valuable Player. He was the top run-scorer with 295 runs, including a century and two half-centuries.

2004 – Sanath Jayasuriya:

Sanath Jayasuriya, a former Sri Lankan captain, was the Most Valuable Player in 2004. He did great with both batting and bowling. He got 293 runs with two centuries and took four wickets as a bowler.

2008 – Ajantha Mendis:

Ajantha Mendis was the star in 2008. He was a spinner from Sri Lanka and took 17 wickets in the tournament, including six wickets for just 13 runs in the final against India.

2010 – Shahid Afridi:

In 2010, Shahid Afridi from Pakistan was the Most Valuable Player. He was great at both batting and bowling. He scored 265 runs and took three wickets.

2012 – Shakib Al Hasan:

In 2012, Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan got the Most Valuable Player award. He was really good at batting, getting 237 runs with three half-centuries. He also took six wickets with the ball.

Also Read: Full List of Hindi & English Commentary Panel for Asia Cup 2023

2014 – Lahiru Thirimanne:

Lahiru Thirimanne from Sri Lanka was the Most Valuable Player in 2014. He got 279 runs with two centuries, and he was a big part of Sri Lanka’s win in the final against Pakistan.

2016 – Sabbir Rahman:

In the first T20I Asia Cup in 2016, Bangladesh’s Sabbir Rahman was the Most Valuable Player. He scored the most runs, 176, in the tournament.

2018 – Shikhar Dhawan:

Shikhar Dhawan from India was the Most Valuable Player in 2018. He was really amazing, scoring 342 runs in five matches.

2022 – Mohammad Rizwan:

The most recent Asia Cup in 2022 had Mohammad Rizwan from Pakistan as the Most Valuable Player. He did great batting, scoring 281 runs with three fifties, helping his team reach the final.

These players did incredibly well in the Asia Cup and made their mark in the history of the tournament.

YearPlayer of the Series
1984Surinder Khanna
1986Arjuna Ranatunga
1988Navjot Singh Sidhu
1995Navjot Singh Sidhu
1997Arjuna Ranatunga
2000Mohammad Yousuf
2004Sanath Jayasuriya
2008Ajantha Mendis
2010Shahid Afridi
2012Shakib Al Hasan
2014Lahiru Thirimanne
2016Sabbir Rahman
2018Shikhar Dhawan
2022Mohammad Rizwan

Asia Cup 2023 is an upcoming cricket tournament that cricket fans all over Asia are eagerly anticipating. Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the host of this exciting event. And this time six teams will compete against each other. These teams are India, Pakistan, Nepal, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh. The Asia Cup 2023 is scheduled to kick off on September 2nd.


Comments are closed.

Pin It