ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List (ODI Format):

The ICC Cricket World Cup, a pinnacle event in ODI cricket, has witnessed some of the most intense battles on the field since its inception in 1975. From the glorious West Indies era in the late ’70s to India’s historic triumph in 1983, and Australia’s dominant run in the early 2000s, this tournament has seen remarkable moments etched in cricketing history. Here is a comprehensive list of Cricket World Cup winners, from its inaugural edition in 1975 to the most recent one held in 2019.

YearWinnerHosting CountryRunner-up
1975West IndiesEnglandAustralia
1979West IndiesEnglandEngland
1983IndiaEnglandWest Indies
1987AustraliaIndia and PakistanEngland
1992PakistanAustralia and NZEngland
1996Sri LankaPakistan and IndiaAustralia
2003AustraliaSouth AfricaIndia
2007AustraliaWest IndiesSri Lanka
2011IndiaIndia and BangladeshSri Lanka
2015AustraliaAustralia and NZNew Zealand
2019EnglandEngland and WalesNew Zealand

Men’s Test Cricket World Cup Winners List:

The ICC Men’s Test World Cup, a celebration of the purest form of cricket, commenced in 2019. This prestigious tournament brings together the finest Test-playing nations to compete for cricketing glory. Let’s take a look at the Test Cricket World Cup winners from 2019 to the most recent edition in 2023.

2019/21EnglandNew ZealandIndia

Men’s T20I Cricket World Cup Winners List:

The fast-paced and electrifying Men’s T20I Cricket World Cup has been captivating fans worldwide since its inception in 2007. With breathtaking performances and nail-biting finishes, this tournament showcases the epitome of T20 cricket. Below is the list of T20 Cricket World Cup winners from 2007 to 2022, highlighting the teams that have triumphed in this thrilling format.

YearWinnerRunner-upHosting Country
2007IndiaPakistanSouth Africa
2009PakistanSri LankaEngland
2010EnglandAustraliaWest Indies
2012West IndiesSri LankaSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndiaBangladesh
2016West IndiesEnglandIndia
2020AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia

Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List:

Women’s cricket has witnessed a tremendous surge in popularity over the years, and the Women’s Cricket World Cup has played a vital role in promoting the sport. From the early dominance of England to the recent resurgence of Australia, this tournament has showcased the incredible talent of female cricketers worldwide. Here’s a rundown of the Women’s Cricket World Cup winners from 1973 to the most recent edition in 2022.

1993EnglandNew Zealand
1997AustraliaNew Zealand
2000New ZealandAustralia
2009EnglandNew Zealand
2013AustraliaWest Indies

Women’s Cricket T20 World Cup Winners List:

The Women’s Cricket T20 World Cup has been a celebration of women’s cricketing prowess since its inception in 2009. Over the years, the tournament has seen fierce competition among the best teams from around the world. Here is the list of Women’s T20 World Cup winners, highlighting the champion teams and the host countries:

TeamAppearances in FinalWinnersYears Won
Australia751987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
West Indies321975, 1979
India321983, 2011
Sri Lanka311996

Country-wise ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List:

The ICC Cricket World Cup has seen several cricketing giants vying for the coveted trophy. Australia, with its dominant performances, leads the pack with five titles, while other cricketing powerhouses like West Indies and India have also etched their names in the list of champions. Let’s take a look at the country-wise ICC Cricket World Cup winners and their memorable triumphs in this prestigious tournament.

Also Read: Kheloo Account Registration, Login, and Verification Process

2009EnglandNew ZealandEngland
2010AustraliaNew ZealandWest Indies
2012AustraliaEnglandSri Lanka
2016West IndiesAustraliaIndia
2018AustraliaEnglandWest Indies
2022AustraliaEnglandSouth Africa

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners – Captains List:

The role of a captain is pivotal in leading a cricket team to glory in ICC tournaments. Here is the list of World Cup winners, along with the respective captains, from the years 1975 to 2019:

YearWorld Cup WinnerCaptain
1975West IndiesClive Lloyd
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1992PakistanImran Khan
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2019EnglandEoin Morgan

ICC World Cup Winners List – Facts and Figures:

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup has seen the participation of twelve teams, including cricketing giants like India, Australia, Pakistan, South Africa, and more. The Women’s Cricket World Cup, on the other hand, has seen a similar level of fierce competition among the top women’s teams.

Australia holds the record for the most World Cup titles, winning it multiple times in both the men’s and women’s tournaments. And also Australia is the only country to have won the Men’s and Women’s World Cup in all three formats – 20 overs, 50 overs, and 60 overs.

FAQs about Cricket World Cup Winners List:

  1. How many teams have participated in the ODI Cricket World Cups?
    A total of twenty teams have participated in the ODI Cricket World Cups held so far. The upcoming 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 13th edition of the men’s Cricket World Cup and is scheduled to be hosted in India during October and November.
  1. How many countries have made it to the Cricket World Cup Winners List since 1975?
    Six countries have earned a place in the World Cup winners’ list since the tournament’s inception in 1975. These countries are West Indies, India, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England.
  1. Which country leads the ICC Cricket World Cup Winners List?
    Australia tops the ICC World Cup Cricket winners list with an impressive five titles. Additionally, the country has been the runner-up twice. India and West Indies have both won the World Cup twice.
  1. How many times did India win the World Cup?
    The Indian cricket team has claimed the World Cup twice. First in 1983 under the captaincy of Kapil Dev and then in 2011 led by M.S. Dhoni. India reached the final in 2003 and reached the semifinals in 1987, 1996, 2015, and 2019.
  1. Who won the 2022 T20 World Cup?
    England emerged victorious in the 2022 T20 World Cup, defeating Pakistan in the thrilling final to secure their second T20 World Cup title.

Comments are closed.

Pin It
ODI Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List from 1975 to 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 All 10 Teams New Jersey ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums List, Capacity, & Matches