IPL season is like a giant cricket party for fans in India. Everyone has their favorite team, and arguments about who’s the ultimate champion can get wild! Even during crazy times, the IPL keeps finding ways to entertain, with Dubai stepping in to host matches a while back. This year, the IPL got even more exciting because 2 new teams joined! 

This is probably because they get to see their favorite international cricket stars playing on different teams. While fans obviously back their favorite player’s team, cricket experts take a more objective approach, looking at things like how well each team performs, how often they win, and even how fair they play.

Winning Records: Unveiling the Champions

Here’s a sneak peek at how each IPL team has stacked up in terms of winning percentage since way back in 2008, including matches that were settled in those nail-biting tiebreakers!

Gujarat Titans2022-20233323100000069.69
Chennai Super Kings2008-2023226131910001258.96
Lucknow Super Giants2022-20233017120000158.62
Mumbai Indians2008-20232481381050022056.68
Kolkata Knight Riders2008-20232411191140013051.05
Rajasthan Royals2008-20232091011000021250.24
Rising Pune Supergiant2016-20173015150000050
Royal Challengers Bangalore2008-20232431141200021448.73
Sunrisers Hyderabad2013-202316778840013048.19
Punjab Kings2008-20232321041240031045.68
Delhi Capitals2008-20232391051270031245.33
Gujarat Lions2016-20173013160001045
Kochi Tuskers Kerala2011-201114680000042.85
Deccan Chargers2008-20127629460000038.65
Pune Warriors2011-20134612330000126.66

Win Kings! Who Reigns Supreme in the IPL?

Forget most wins, consistency is king! Gujarat Titans might be rocking the charts now, but they’re fresh out of the box.

Who’s got the best winning percentage, you ask? Probably the team you already thought of! Yep, MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings rule the roost (with a bunch of seasons under their belt).

Right behind CSK, Lucknow Super Giants show promise, but they’re kind of new. That bumps Mumbai Indians into third place, finally making the cut!

The race is tight! CSK and MI are very close in how many games they win. When these two strong teams play each other, it’s a super exciting match, just like when India plays Pakistan! CSK vs. MI finals? The ultimate IPL dream match!

Also Read: Top 5 Worst IPL Captains of All Time in History

CSK vs MI 

Can you recollect the first CSK vs MI match in 2008? Super close! CSK won by a hair after a crazy high-scoring game!

Both teams are pretty even. As you know Mumbai Indians won 20 out of 36 matches. And Chennai won 16. No ties or unfinished games!

Here’s a crazy fact: These two are the only teams to battle four times in the IPL finals, and guess what? Mumbai won three of those!

CSK’s legendary captain, MS Dhoni, is a total rockstar. Don’t forget, CSK has also snagged five IPL trophies, tying Mumbai for the most ever!

Imagine if CSK played in 2016 and 2017 (they got banned for a fight), they might have even more wins!

Both CSK and MI totally rule the IPL. They each have five trophies! CSK’s amazing win against Gujarat Titans in the 2023 finals tied them with Mumbai for the championship lead. How awesome is that?

CSK: Win Kings AND Fair Play Champions!

Who’s the real IPL champ? Look no further than Chennai Super Kings (CSK)! Sure, Mumbai Indians (MI) might have the same trophies, but CSK crushes them with win percentage, even playing fewer games! Mind blown!

But hold on! CSK also dominates the fair play game, winning a whopping six awards to MI’s measly two. Talk about winning with class!

So, when it comes to racking up wins and being good sports, CSK is the undisputed IPL king (for now!). Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) snags third place for win ratio, while Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) somehow has the fewest losses out of all active teams! Who knew?

Also Read: IPL 2024 Retained Players List of All Teams

Fair Play Award Winners List

Imagine the Fair Play Award is like a gold star for good sportsmanship! Teams get stars based on how they play nice on the field. There are 3 people who watch the game closely: the umpires (like referees). They give stars (points) in a few ways:

  • 4 stars for playing fair and having fun!
  • 2 stars for being kind to the other team.
  • 2 stars for following the rules.
  • 2 stars for listening to the umpires.

The team with the most stars at the end wins the Fair Play Award!

Table representing the Fair Play Award winners for each season along with the respective teams:

2023Delhi Capitals
2022Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans
2021Rajasthan Royals
2020Mumbai Indians
2019Sunrisers Hyderabad
2018Mumbai Indians
2017Gujarat Lions
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad
2015Chennai Super Kings
2014Chennai Super Kings
2013Chennai Super Kings
2012Rajasthan Royals
2011Chennai Super Kings
2010Chennai Super Kings
2009Kings XI Punjab
2008Chennai Super Kings

IPL Winners List since 2008 with the runner-up details:

SeasonStadium (Final Match)Winner TeamRunner-up Team
2023Narendra Modi StadiumChennai Super KingsGujarat Titans
2022Narendra Modi StadiumGujarat TitansRajasthan Royals
2021Dubai International Cricket StadiumChennai Super KingsKolkata Knight Riders
2020Dubai International Cricket StadiumMumbai IndiansDelhi Capitals
2019Rajiv Gandhi StadiumMumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2018Wankhede StadiumChennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad
2017Rajiv Gandhi StadiumMumbai IndiansRising Pune Supergiant
2016M. Chinnaswamy StadiumSunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Eden GardensMumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2014M. Chinnaswamy StadiumKolkata Knight RidersKings XI Punjab
2013Eden GardensMumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
2012M. A. Chidambaram StadiumKolkata Knight RidersChennai Super Kings
2011M. A. Chidambaram StadiumChennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010DY Patil StadiumChennai Super KingsMumbai Indians
2009Wanderers Stadium (South Africa)Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2008DY Patil StadiumRajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings

Comments are closed.

Pin It
ODI Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List from 1975 to 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 All 10 Teams New Jersey ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums List, Capacity, & Matches