The ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 is around the corner, and it brings a mix of excitement and concerns. Injuries have hit some of the top players, leading to replacements. Let’s delve into the details with a mix of complexity and variety.

Injuries Shake Up the Scene

As the ODI World Cup approaches, the cricketing world faces a conundrum. Injuries, an unwelcome guest, have disrupted team plans. Here’s a glimpse of the players affected.

Injured Players and Their Replacements

TeamInjured PlayerReplacement Player
South AfricaAnrich NortjeAndile Phehlukwayo
South AfricaSisanda MagalaLizaad Williams
PakistanNaseem ShahHasan Ali
Sri LankaWanindu HasarangaDushan Hemantha
AustraliaAshton AgarMarnus Labuschagne
IndiaAxar PatelR Ashwin

Anrich Nortje’s Plight Anrich Nortje, known for his fiery pace, finds himself sidelined. During the second ODI against Australia, Nortje’s back injury cut short his stint on the field. He bowled only five overs before his departure. While he later returned to the field and scored 10 runs, his back ailment ultimately ruled him out of the World Cup 2023. His replacement, Andile Phehlukwayo, showcased his skills in recent ODIs against Australia.

Sisanda Magala’s Setback Another South African, Sisanda Magala, experienced a knee injury. He made a brief appearance in the third ODI against Australia, bowling just four overs. Lizaad Williams has taken his place in the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023.

Naseem Shah’s Unexpected Blow Naseem Shah’s journey to the World Cup took an unexpected turn. He suffered a right shoulder injury during a game against India in the Asia Cup. The scans revealed a graver situation than anticipated, forcing him out of the marquee tournament in India. Hasan Ali has been entrusted with filling Shah’s shoes.

Also Read: India vs New Zealand ODI World Cup 2023: Head-to-Head Records, Stats, & Match Details

The World Cup Lineup: A Brief Overview Here’s a glimpse of the participating teams and their key players.

ICC Men’s Cricket ODI World Cup 2023 Squad


Rohit Sharma (c)Batsman
Shubman GillBatsman
Virat KohliBatsman
Shreyas IyerBatsman
Ishan Kishan (wk)WK-Batsman
KL Rahul (wk)WK-Batsman
Hardik Pandya (vc)Allrounder
Ravindra JadejaAllrounder
Axar PatelAllrounder
Shardul ThakurBowler
Jasprit BumrahBowler
Mohammad ShamiBowler
Mohammad SirajBowler
Kuldeep YadavBowler


Travis HeadBatter
Steve SmithBatter
David WarnerBatter
Sean AbbottAll-rounder
Cameron GreenAll-rounder
Mitchell MarshAll-rounder
Glenn MaxwellAll-rounder
Marcus StoinisAll-rounder
Alex CareyWicket-keeper
Josh InglisWicket-keeper
Ashton AgarSpin Bowler
Adam ZampaSpin Bowler
Mitchell StarcPace Bowler
Josh HazlewoodPace Bowler
Pat Cummins (c)Pace Bowler

South Africa

Temba BavumaBatsman
Reeza HendricksBatsman
Rassie Van Der DussenBatsman
Aiden MarkramBatsman
David MillerBatsman
Quinton de KockWK-Batsman
Heinrich KlaasenWK-Batsman
Marco JansenAllrounder
Andile PhehlukwayoAllrounder
Gerald CoetzeeBowler
Keshav MaharajBowler
Lungi NgidiBowler
Lizaad WilliamsBowler
Kagiso RabadaBowler
Tabraiz ShamsiBowler


Max O’DowdBatsman
Vikram SinghBatsman
Wesley BarresiBatsman
Sybrand EngelbrechtBatsman
Scott Edwards (c)Wicket-keeper
Bas de LeedeAll-rounder
Teja NidamanuruAll-rounder
Colin AckermannAll-rounder
Roelof van der MerweAll-rounder
Saqib ZulfiqarAll-rounder
Shariz AhmadSpin Bowler
Aryan DuttSpin Bowler
Paul van MeekerenPace Bowler
Logan van BeekPace Bowler
Ryan KleinPace Bowler


Dawid MalanBatter
Joe RootBatter
Harry BrookBatter
Jos Buttler (c)Wicket-keeper
Jonny BairstowWicket-keeper
Moeen AliAll-rounder
Sam CurranAll-rounder
Liam LivingstoneAll-rounder
Ben StokesAll-rounder
David WilleyAll-rounder
Chris WoakesAll-rounder
Adil RashidSpin Bowler
Gus AtkinsonPace Bowler
Reece TopleyPace Bowler
Mark WoodPace Bowler


Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)Batsman
Ibrahim ZadranBatsman
Najibullah ZadranBatsman
Riaz HassanBatsman
Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk)Wicket-keeper
Ikram AlikhilWicket-keeper
Rahmat ShahAll-rounder
Mohammad NabiAll-rounder
Rashid KhanAll-rounder
Noor AhmadSpin Bowler
Mujeeb-ur-RahmanSpin Bowler
Abdul RahmanPace Bowler
Fazalhaq FarooqiPace Bowler
Naveen-ul-HaqPace Bowler

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (c)Batsman
Glenn PhillipsBatsman
Will YoungBatsman
Devon ConwayWicket-keeper
Tom LathamWicket-keeper
Mark ChapmanAll-rounder
Daryl MitchellAll-rounder
Jimmy NeeshamAll-rounder
Rachin RavindraAll-rounder
Mitch SantnerAll-rounder
Ish SodhiSpin Bowler
Trent BoultPace Bowler
Lockie FergusonPace Bowler
Matt HenryPace Bowler
Tim SoutheePace Bowler


Babar Azam (c)Batsman
Fakhar ZamanBatsman
Abdullah ShafiqueBatsman
Saud ShakeelBatsman
Iftikhar AhmedBatsman
Mohammad RizwanWicket-keeper
Salman Ali AghaAll-rounder
Mohammad NawazAll-rounder
Mohammad WasimAll-rounder
Shadab KhanAll-rounder
Usama MirSpin Bowler
Haris RaufPace Bowler
Hasan AliPace Bowler
Shaheen AfridiPace Bowler

Conclusion As the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 inches closer, injuries have disrupted the plans of several teams. While the replacements have big shoes to fill, fans worldwide are eager to see how these squads will perform on the grand stage. Stay tuned for the thrilling cricket action ahead!


Comments are closed.

Pin It
ODI Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List from 1975 to 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 All 10 Teams New Jersey ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums List, Capacity, & Matches