1Jasprit BumrahMI7728135.9612.85015/21
2Harshal PatelPBKS8829139.5921.38003/15
3Yuzvendra ChahalRR7726128.3518.08003/11
4Gerald CoetzeeMI7726.3129.9221.92104/34
5Sam CurranPBKS8824118.7919.18003/28
6Mustafizur RahmanCSK6624119.4220.55104/29
7Kuldeep YadavDC5520107.6015.20104/55
8T NatarajanSRH5520108.5017.00104/19
9Kagiso RabadaPBKS8832108.5327.30002/18
10Khaleel AhmedDC8831109.0328.00002/21
11Mohit SharmaGT8727109.1924.80003/25
12Arshdeep SinghPBKS8827.2109.4025.70104/29
13Sunil NarineKKR772897.1122.11002/30
14Matheesha PathiranaCSK441697.3113.00104/28
15Pat CumminsSRH772898.0024.89003/43
16Harshit RanaKKR652099.2520.56003/33
17Andre RussellKKR7713.2910.0514.89003/25
18Mukesh KumarDC5517.3910.4020.22003/14
19Rashid KhanGT883087.2727.25002/49
20Varun ChakravarthyKKR772689.0829.50003/33

Purple Reign: The Baffling Battle for Bowling Glory in the IPL

IPL is like a big show-off for cricket players! Everyone hits the ball way far, and some bowlers are really good at getting people out.

The Purple Cap is a special hat for the bowler who gets the most outs in the whole IPL season! It means they’re super good at bowling and stopping the other team from scoring runs.

Read More: Top 20 Wicket Takers in IPL History (2008-2024)

This special hat race is exciting to watch because bowlers try their best to get the most outs every single game! The first bowler to ever win this hat was Sohail Tanvir, and since then, lots of other bowlers have won it too. Some are really fast throwers, and some are trickier and can fool the batters.

Read Also: Cricket’s Finest Athletes: Ranking the Top 10 Fittest Players

The Purple Cap is like a trophy that shows everyone how awesome a bowler is! It helps their team win lots of games and maybe even the whole IPL championship! Every year, there’s a new race for the Purple Cap, and it’s always fun to see who wins!

IPL Purple Cap winners:

YearWinnerTeamInningsWicketsAverageEconomy4W hauls
2008Sohail Tanvir (RR)Rajasthan Royals112212.096.461
2009RP Singh (Deccan Chargers)Deccan Chargers162318.136.981
2010Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)Deccan Chargers162120.427.290
2011Lasith Malinga (MI)Mumbai Indians162813.395.950
2012Morne Morkel (DD)Delhi Daredevils162518.127.191
2013Dwayne Bravo (CSK)Chennai Super Kings183215.537.951
2014Mohit Sharma (CSK)Chennai Super Kings162319.658.391
2015Dwayne Bravo (CSK)Chennai Super Kings172616.388.140
2016Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (SRH)Sunrisers Hyderabad172321.37.421
2017Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (SRH)Sunrisers Hyderabad142614.197.050
2018Andrew Tye (PBKS)Kings XI Punjab142418.6683
2019Imran Tahir (CSK)Chennai Super Kings172616.576.692
2020Kagiso Rabada (DC)Delhi Capitals173018.268.342
2021Harshal Patel (RCB)Royal Challengers Bangalore153214.348.141
2022Yuzvendra Chahal (RR)Rajasthan Royals172719.517.751
2023Mohammed Shami (GT)Gujarat Titans172818.648.032

Guidelines for IPL Purple Cap 2024

IPL is back! We get to see fast balls go zoom and big hits go high! But there’s also a game for bowlers to get the most outs! The Purple Cap is a special hat for the bowler who gets the most outs in the whole season! It’s like a prize for being the best at bowling and stopping the other team from scoring

This coveted piece of headgear transcends mere fashion; it’s the ultimate badge of honor for the bowler who nabs the most dismissals throughout the electrifying tournament. Imagine the scene: a fiery pacer, a wily spinner, their chests puffed with pride, sporting this symbol of their bowling supremacy.

However, the path to the Purple Cap isn’t a cakewalk paved with dismissed batsmen. It’s a complex test that demands both raw skill and shrewd efficiency. Suppose two bowlers find themselves locked in a nail-biting tie with an identical number of dismissals. In that case, the bowler who exhibits a more parsimonious bowling spell, conceding fewer runs, snatches the Cap in a display of economic dominance.

The complexities don’t end there. Cricket, after all, thrives on its inherent dynamism. Fortunes can shift dramatically within a single over. If, during the heat of an ongoing match, a bowler from the opposing team surpasses the current leader in the wicket-taking tally, the Purple Cap doesn’t magically teleport across the field! The previous leader retains it for the remainder of the match, a symbolic reminder of the ever-evolving battle for supremacy. Only after the final wicket falls does the Cap ceremoniously change hands, officially crowning the new leader.


Guess the person who got the most wickets in IPL 2023?

Shami from Gujarat Titans! He got the most outs, 28 of them, in just 17 games! That’s super good!

Who won the first-ever most wickets prize?

A bowler named Sohail Tanvir! He played for Rajasthan Royals and got 22 outs.

Who has won the most most wickets prizes ever?

Two players! Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar both won the most outs prize twice. Bhuvneshwar even won two years in a row, the only one to ever do that!

Who was the first Indian to win the most outs prize?

RP Singh! He played for Deccan Chargers and got 23 outs.

Who was the first spinner to win the most outs prize?

Pragyan Ojha! He also played for Deccan Chargers and got 21 outs.

Who got the most outs while using the ball the least?

Lasith Malinga! He got 28 outs but used the ball very little, like a super saver!


Write A Comment

Pin It
ODI Cricket World Cup Winning Captains List from 1975 to 2023 ICC World Cup 2023 All 10 Teams New Jersey ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Stadiums List, Capacity, & Matches