A total of 26 sportspersons achieved the great Arjuna Award on January 9, 2024, from the respected President of India Droupadi Murma. The list majorly featured athletes from the Asian Games held in 2023 where India created history by winning well over 100 medals in a singular edition of the event. 

Besides the star Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami, archers Sheetal Devi, Aditi Gopichand Swami, and Ojas Pravin Deotale as well as wrestler Antim Panghal are among the names who received the prestigious Arjuna Award. India’s second-greatest athletic honor, the Arjuna Award, is presented for great performance over the past 4 years and for showcasing qualities of sportsmanship, leadership as well as a sense of discipline. 

Solely one cricket player Mohammed Shami, was presented with the honor after he finished as the top wicket-taker of the 2023 World Cup when Australia defeated the Indian team in the finals. An extremely crucial member of the Indian cricket team, Fast bowler Shami, has been bestowed the great honor of receiving the prestigious Arjuna Award. Shami’s astonishing contribution to the Indian cricket team, particularly his excellent performance during the 2023 ODI World Cup, earned him this extraordinary recognition. 

Mohammed Shami is now the 58th Indian cricket player to receive this honor, joining this prestigious list that includes the likes of Sachin Tendulkar, Rohit Sharma and so many more. Remarkably, Shami is the very first cricketer to get this honor back in 2023, following the example of his team player Shikhar Dhawan in 2021. 

Expressing his gratitude and happiness, Mohammed Shami stated that receiving the prestigious award is like a dream come true. He paid great emphasis on his unwavering dedication and the hard work he put in throughout his career, making this honor an extremely crucial milestone. Shami’s stupendous bowling skills and crucial role in the Indian cricket team have added to his great recognition. 

Following is a glimpse of some of the illustrious cricket players who have formerly received the honorable Arjuna Award: 

Salim Durani (1961)

Sunil Gavaskar (1975)

Sachin Tendulkar (1994)

Virender Sehwag (2002)

Virat Kohli (2013)

Mohammed Shami (2023)

And numerous other Indian cricket stars have been bestowed with this award every year. 

This great honor reflects Shami’s substantial contribution to Indian cricket and he includes a brand new chapter to an illustrious career. The cricket world delights in his achievements, and enthusiasts are anticipated to see more excellent performances from this fast bowler. 

List of Arjun Awardees: 

Ojas Pravin Deotale (Archery)

Murali Sreeshankar (Athletics)

Ajay Reddy (Blind cricket)

Mohd Hussamuddin (Boxing)

R Vaishali (Chess)

Mohammed Shami (Cricket)

Anush Agarwalla (Equestrian)

Diksha Dagar (Golf)

Bahadur Pathak (Hockey)

Ayhika Mukherjee (Table tennis)

Antim Panghal (Wrestling)

Numerous others have made it to this honorable list of Arjun awardees and Indian citizens couldn’t have been prouder of its children’s achievements. 

Shami Might Miss 2 Test Matches against England: Reports 

Meanwhile, Shami is presumable to miss the initial 2 matches of the forthcoming 5-Test series against the England team, set to begin on January 25, as the pacer is yet to recommence bowling following an ankle injury he sustained, say reports.

He has not begun bowling, and he will need to head to the NCA (National Cricket Academy) to showcase his fitness, based on the Indian Express report. 

Mohammed Shami was added to the Test team against South Africa but his availableness was subject to his fitness. The BCCI later during a press release stated that the Medical Team had not yet cleared Shami and the fast bowler was winnowed out of the 2 Test matches. 


Write A Comment

Pin It